Salva Sanchis


Two monks were arguing about the temple flag waving in the wind. One said, "The flag moves." The other said, "The wind moves." They argued back and forth but could not agree. The Sixth Ancestor said, "Gentlemen! It is not the wind that moves; it is not the flag that moves; it is your mind that moves." The two monks were struck with awe.

- The Mumonkan Case 29, by Zen master Hui-Neng

Angle is a dance solo created and performed by Salva Sanchis. It is set to short piano solo pieces by György Ligeti, John Cage, Luciano Berio, Jo Kondo and Keiko Harada, which will be performed live by pianist Yutaka Oya.

Angle is dance piece about the perception of dance. Its title refers specifically to the way we look at dance. As we all know, dance, just like music, doesn’t stand alone. It needs an audience to fulfill its purpose, and the audience brings in as much baggage as the artist to that relation.

As the zen quote above tells us, since the movement actually happens in our minds, what we see might vary depending on how we look at it.

In Angle, Salva Sanchis establishes a bridge between the spectator and the dance, so that this time, the spectator is not left alone in figuring out how to look at the dance. Thoughts, quotes and artists’ ideas will be provided as a subtle framing to the open experience that the dance offers to us. The space for free interpretation will remain open. Rather than receiving an explanation, we will be shown possible directions. Rather than being dictated what to perceive, we will be made aware that how we perceive is mainly dictated by ourselves in the first place.

Salva Sanchis shows and questions the relation between dance, music and text on the one side, and the perception of each of those elements by the audience on the other side. He chooses for a construction in which all the parts are interlinked and yet they keep their autonomy. Thus, Angle consists of a multi-layered structure that invites us to make connections between elements.

The final objective will be for the dance and the spectator to ‘meet’ on equal terms, both free and responsible. And just as sounds travel through space and become music only inside our minds, the dance too will invite our minds with it.


Choreography and dance: Salva Sanchis
Piano: Yutaka Oya
Music: György Ligeti, John Cage, Luciano Berio, Jo Kondo and Keiko Harada
Text: John Cage, Merce Cunningham and Albert Einstein
Graphic design: Compagnie Paul Verrept
Photography: Stanislav Dobak
Production: Kunst/Werk
Coproduction: Kaaitheater
Translations: Joris Wouters (En-Nl), Isabelle Grynberg (En-Fr), Stéphanie Barboteau (En-Fr)
Feedback and assistance: Manon Santkin, Georgia Vardarou
With the support of:  Concertgebouw Brugge, de Vlaamse Gemeenschap


  • 13/01/12 Kaaistudio's, Brussels
  • 14/01/12 Kaaistudio's, Brussels
  • 10/02/12 Monty, Antwerp
  • 21/03/12 Stuk, Louvain
  • 17/10/12 Concertgebouw Bruges
  • 08/12/12 CC De Schakel, Waregem
  • 16/05/13 CC Strombeek-Bever
  • 27/11/13 CC Maasmechelen
  • 09/12/13 excerpt : Movement Research at the Judson Church, New York


Brussel Deze Week, interview
januari 2012

Utopia Parkway, recensie
januari 2012

De Standaard, recensie
februari 2012